Roles and business areas

Legal and Compliance Unit

The mission of the LC Unit is to work with colleagues and stakeholders to achieve the EBA's objectives in a legal and ethical way and ensure understanding and consistent application of the regulatory framework.

Governance and External Affairs Unit

The mission of the GEA Unit is to provide support to the EBA Governing bodies, to prepare and monitor the execution of the EBA work programme, to engage with EU and non-EU institutions and stakeholders, to manage the EBA internal and external communication and to provide training to competent authorities.

Prudential Regulation and Supervisory Policy Department

The PRSP Department is responsible for the Single Rulebook, setting out prudential requirements for banks and ensuring convergence of supervisory practices for competent authorities. The typical tasks include the development of Regulatory/Implementing Technical Standards, providing advice to the Commission and colegislators, in particular in the context of the CRR/CRD and the BRRD, as well as MiCA/DORA.

Liquidity, Leverage, Loss Absorbency and Capital Unit

The mission of the LILLAC Unit is to deal with liquidity and leverage requirements, the accounting framework and capital instruments.

Risk-based Metrics Unit

The mission of the RBM Unit is to deal with credit, market and operational risk, in addition to the implementation of the IFR/IFD and securitisation/covered bonds framework.

Supervisory Review, Recovery and Resolution Unit

The mission of the SRRR Unit is to deal with supervisory Review, Recovery and Resolution (SRRR), which is responsible for SREP/ICAP processes, recovery and resolution and supervisory convergence, including participation in bank colleges.

Innovation, Conduct and Consumers Department

The ICC Department is responsible for leading the thematic and policy work on digital finance and information and communication technology (ICT) and security risks, consumer protection, and Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT).

Digital Finance Unit

The mission of the DF Unit is to monitor financial innovation, warrant proper and timely regulatory and supervisory response and facilitate the EBA’s work on technology driven innovation. Also, DF leads the EBA’s work on digital operational resilience and on markets in crypto assets, in particular MiCA and DORA.

Conduct, Payments and Consumers Unit

The mission of the COPAC Unit is to protect consumers against harm arising from the misconduct of firms, to make retail payments more secure, competitive, innovative and convenient, and to prevent bank runs by strengthening depositors when their bank fails.

Anti Money Laundering and Counter Terrorist Financing Unit

The mission of the AML/CFT Unit is to make sure that NCAs and financial institutions put in place and implement effective systems and controls to prevent the use of the EU’s financial system for the purposes of money laundering and terrorist financing. Ultimately, through its work, the Unit contributes to maintaining the stability and effective functioning of the single market and to protecting EU citizens from harm caused by financial crime.

Economic and Risk Analysis Department

The ERA Department is responsible for assessing and monitoring financial stability risks and vulnerabilities in the EU banking sector. The tasks include regulatory impact assessments, research focused on the EU banking system, organising and conducting the EU-wide stress test and coordinating regulatory and analytical risk work related to ESG – including climate risk stress testing of EU banks.

Economic Analysis and Impact Assessment Unit

The mission of the EAIA Unit is to carry out analytical impact assessments of EBA regulatory products, to produce reports and advise on selected analytical topics, to support other EBA units in developing analytical tools and models, to carry out research to improve the quality of EBA products and to organise seminars and workshops on topics relevant to EBA work.

Risk Analysis and Stress Testing Unit

The mission of RAST Unit is to monitor market trends and identify and assess the main risks and vulnerabilities in the EU banking sector. The Unit is also in charge of strengthening the EBA’s capacity to contribute to the EU-wide stress testing. This also includes other initiatives related to stress test such as top-down approaches and climate stress test.

ESG Risks Unit

The mission of the ESGR Unit is to develop an adequate regulatory and supervisory framework for the identification, measurement, and management of ESG risks with a view to supporting the transition to a sustainable economy, while ensuring that the banking sector remains resilient. This includes developing metrics for the measurement of ESG risks, enhancing risk management and supervisory practices, assessing the appropriateness of adjustments to the prudential framework, assisting the European Commission in the development of green standards and labels, as well as conducting work to avoid greenwashing.

Data Analytics, Reporting & Transparency Department

The DART Department is responsible for managing the EBA’s data infrastructure, analytical tools and data services, as well as the development and maintenance of the authority’s integrated supervisory reporting and disclosures framework.

Statistics Unit

The mission of the STATS Unit is to manage the EBA’s data infrastructure, the advanced risk assessment tools and dashboards. The Unit is responsible for the statistical tasks throughout the EBA, including the tasks related to data transparency, it ensures that data workflows from and to EBA key stakeholders are timely and smooth, it undertakes empirical analyses on the EU banking sector.

Reporting and Transparency Unit

The mission of the RT Unit is to maintain and evolve a high-quality and integrated supervisory and resolution reporting framework that supports authorities in their supervisory and monitoring tasks in a way that is efficient for all actors, and a comprehensive Pillar 3 framework with consistent and meaningful prudential disclosures that ensures that users of information have access it comparable and relevant information and promotes market discipline, including the development of a Pillar 3 hub that will centralise banks’ prudential disclosures (Pillar 3 hub).


The OPER Department is responsible for enabling the EBA to accomplish its strategic objectives with an engaged and talented workforce, transformative digital capabilities, compliant and effective financial management, and a safe and sustainable working environment..

Human Resources Unit

The mission of the HR Unit is to help the EBA as Employer of choice putting the right people, at the right place, at the right time with the right skills with a focus on purposeful engagement.

Information Technology

The mission of the IT Unit is to deliver digital solutions, services and technology leadership to enable the EBA to achieve its strategic mission and to support its everyday operations. EBA IT closely collaborates with all EBA organizational units and its stakeholders to lead a digital transformation for EBA, delivering the digital solutions and the technology leadership for EBA to become a Digital Agency, with high efficiency, agility, and compliance.

Finance and Procurement Unit

The mission of the FP Unit is to manage the EBA’s budget and procurement procedures, ensuring timely budget acquisition, optimum budget execution, efficient and effective procurement of contracts, in full compliance with the applicable regulations.

Corporate Services Unit

The mission of the CS Unit is to provide a safe, inclusive, and collaborative office space for the EBA by planning and delivering excellent service and professional standards as we strive for a sustainable future.