Joint Commitee

Responsive image

The Joint Committee is a forum with the objective of strengthening cooperation between the European Banking Authority (EBA), the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA) and the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), collectively known as the three European Supervisory Authorities (ESAs).

Through the Joint Committee, the three ESAs coordinate their supervisory activities in the scope of their respective responsibilities regularly and closely and ensure consistency in their practices. In particular, the Joint Committee works in the areas of micro-prudential analyses of cross-sectoral developments, risks and vulnerabilities for financial stability, retail financial services and consumer and investor protection issues and retail investment products, cybersecurity, financial conglomerates, accounting and auditing. The ESAs, within the Joint Committee, jointly explore and monitor potential emerging risks for financial markets participants and the financial system as a whole.

The Joint Committee has a dedicated staff provided by each of the ESAs that acts as a secretariat.

In addition to being a forum for cooperation, the Joint Committee plays an important role in the exchange of information with the European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB) and in developing the relationship between the ESRB and the ESAs.

To learn more, download the booklet Towards European Supervisory Convergence: The Joint Committee of the European Supervisory Authorities​, which looks into the missions, objectives and tasks and the Joint Committee achievements in its first 5 years of existence.

You can find further information about the three ESAs on their respective websites: