

EBA Staff EBA BS 2012 148

20 June 2012

Minutes of the EBA Board of Supervisors Teleconference¹

12th June 2012 - 10:00hrs - 11:30hrs

Location: Telco

- 1. The Chairperson introduced the conference call and recalled that at the last BoS meeting, the Board agreed to organise regular calls to exchange information on developments in the banking sector.
- 2. Potential measures were discussed. It was noted that even if not all Member States adopt the same emergency measures, the exchange of information, ex-ante coordination and strong cooperation at a European level is essential. The risks, benefits and consequences of adopting potential emergency measures, were analysed by the Board. The difficulty of knowing the effects of such measures ex-ante was also stressed.
- 3. There was a commitment from all Members to notify the EBA of any intention to activate such measures. The next BoS conference call on "General Info Sharing" will take place on 18 June 2012 to discuss the impact of the results of the Greek elections.
- 4. Members discussed the 3rd report on the assessment of capital instruments for the purpose of the recapitalisation exercise as introduced during the BoS meeting on 6-7 June 2012.
- 5. The Spanish Board Member informed the Board of the latest developments of individual institutions in Spain and announced that the Spanish authorities would invite the EBA to take part in the evaluation exercise.

_

- 6. Regarding the Capital issuance in Cyprus, several Members expressed support for the use of a write-down mechanism as proposed, if that would be a full write-down.
- 7. However, the Chairperson concluded that it is still preferable to stick to the original term sheet of the BCCS with a conversion feature.
- 8. As a general remark, it was recalled that, in case an instrument is subscribed by the government and not the private sector, the EBA does not need to assess the features of the instrument (in this specific case, in case the instrument is to be subscribed by the government, a partial write-down can be used).
- 9. Regarding the Spanish issuance, Members discussed the notions of unconditional "versus "arbitrary". The conclusion was that the instrument can be accepted on the basis that the CRR rules will overrule the national rules after January 2013.
- 10. A legal check with the Commission's services will be done to confirm that we have a common understanding on the provision of flexibility of payments.

Andrea Enria Chairperson



Participants at the meeting of the Board of Supervisors Teleconference

London, 12 June 2012

Faulhamerova

Chairperson Andrea Enria

Alternate Chairperson Matthew Elderfield

<u>Country</u> <u>Voting member/alternate Representative NCB</u> <u>Accompanying Person</u>

Austria Helmut Ettl

Belgium Mathias Dewatripont

Bulgaria Nelly Kordovska

Cyprus Argyro Procopiou

Czech Republic David Rozumek Zusana Silberova Zdenka

Denmark Ulrik Nodgaard Ulrik Poulsen

Estonia Raul Malmstein Timo Kosenko

Finland Jukka Vesala Anneli Tuominen Kimmo Virolainen

France Danièle Nouy/Frédéric Visnovsky

Germany Raimund Röseler Erich Loeper Frank Pierschel

Greece Ioannis Gousios

Hungary Károly Szász/Laszlo Seregdi Aniko Szombati

Ireland Matthew Elderfield/Mary Burke

Italy Giovanni Carosio/Roberto Rinaldi Maurizio Trapanese

Latvia Janis Brazovskis Vita Pilsuma

Lithuania Aldona Jociene

Luxembourg Claude Simon Norbert Goffinet

Malta Andre Camilleri

Netherlands Jan Sijbrand/Anthony Kruizinga Ana Stoian

Poland Andrzej Reich/Andrzej Saniewski Olga Szczepanska

Portugal Pedro Duarte Neves Adelaide Cavaleiro

Romania Nicolae Cinteza/Adrian Cosmescu

Slovakia Vladimir Dvoracek/Tatiana Dubinova

Slovenia Stanislava Zadravec Caprirolo

Spain Fernando Vargas Cristina Iglesias-Sarria

Sweden Uldis Cerps Olof Sandstedt

UK Andrew Bailey/Paul Sharma Venetia Wingfield

<u>Country</u> <u>Observers</u>

Norway Morten Baltzersen Sindre Weme

Iceland Unnur Gunnarsdottir Jonas Poroarson

Lichtenstein Rolf Brueggemann

Croatia Zelijko Jakus Vedran Bartol

<u>Institutions</u> <u>Representatives</u>

European Commission Dominique Thienpont

European Central Bank Panagiotis Strouzas

ESRB Francesco Mazzaferro

EIOPA Daniela Rode

ESMA Verena Ross

Others

EBA Executive Director Adam Farkas

EBA Director Oversight Piers Haben

EBA Director Regulation Isabelle Vaillant

EBA Director Operations Peter Mihalik

EBA Policy Analysis C

Corinne Kaufman

& Coordination

EBA Staff Delphine Reymondon, Pilar Gutierrez, Despina Chatzimanoli, Meri Rimmanen, Paolo Bisio, Patricia Juanes, Joseph Mifsud